Barbados’ 50th Anniversary of Independence

We celebrate independence on 30th November. 

November is one of my favorite times of the year because in primary school we always had something fun going on. We would have a concert sometimes, since a bunch of Bajan folk songs and have a mini fair once in a while. I especially liked singing class when we would sing songs like :

  • Millie Gone To Brazil
  • Emma
  • Murder In The Market
  • Sweet, Sweet Flying Gish And CouCou
  • God Bless Bim
  • I Love Barbados
  • I Say B

There are so many other songs but I truly can’t remember the names right now.

This year for the 50th Anniversary the school has been celebrating for quite sometime and now our grand finale is coming up. We have special shirts printed, we also had guests come and talk to the children and my favorite was Bajan food day. These Bajan foods included:

  • Conkies
  • Breadfruit chips/cassroles/salad
  • Pone
  • Sweetbread
  • Fishcakes
  • Pumpkin Fritters
  • CouCou and saltfish(no flying fish unfortunately😭)

Anyways, at home we rarely did anything. We’d make a couple foods and just chill most of the day. I went to watch the St.Philip Carnival for a few mins a couple times.

This year however, I have some family coming in. My mother is already prepping some foods so my aunt can cook even though my aunt said she’s not cooking that day. We plan on going to the independence ceremony. I’ve been looking forward to that since September. I remember my grandfather telling me about how it was in 1966.

I parked the bus as close as I can and walked to the Garisson. It rained that night. The Union Jack came down and our flag went up. As soon as it was done I had to hurry back to the bus to take home people.’ 

I know I make it seem uneventful but I want to go this time. I already have most of my outfit ready. I want to go see what the ceremony will be like. I know Rihanna is meant to perform at some point and there’s going to be fireworks.

I’m also going to be participating in the chain link around Barbados. Hopefully it works out this time. (Fingers crossed)

Leave a Reply

